Hotel sector: arrivals and overnight stays of open establishments by year, month, tourist region and visitors' country of residence

For variables marked Select at least one value you need to select at least one value

Year Select at least one value

Total 18 Selected


Month Select at least one value

Total 13 Selected


Tourist region

Total 15 Selected


Visitors' country of residence

Total 78 Selected


Indicator Select at least one value

Total 2 Selected


Number of selected data cells are:(maximum number allowed is 2,500,000)

Presentation on screen is limited to 5,000 rows and 40 columns

Number of selected cells exceeds the maximum allowed 2,500,000
Contact and information


Section Tourism, +41 58 463 62 80, email:
Person; overnight stay


Meta information:
Last modified: new record (new month)
State of the database: 3 working days before publication
Reference period: indicated month
Spatial reference: tourism regions as at 1.1.2020
Data source: tourist accommodation statistics (HESTA)
characters used :
'...' number not specified because not relevant or not available
Hotel industry: hotels and health establishments
Open establishments: number of establishments open during the survey month for at least one day
Methodological note on youth hostels:
From 1 January 2017, fourteen Swiss youth hostel establishments whose characteristics largely meet the NOGA (General Classification of Economic Activities) criteria for hotels and similar accommodation will be included in the accommodation statistics. This fact must be taken into account when interpreting the results for 2017.
Tourist region
Since January 2017, Bern Region and the Bernese Oberland have been combined in a single region called Bern Region.
In January 2020, the districts of Lebern, Bucheggberg, Wasseramt, Solothurn and Thal change from the Jura & Drei-Seen-Land Tourism Region to the Aargau Tourism Region.
Since January 2022, the districts of Dorneck and Thierstein will be transferred from the tourism region Basel to the new tourism region Aargau and Solothurn.
This changes are due to the new geographical distributions decided by the Swiss Conference of Regional Tourism Directors (RDK/CDR).